Single Idea 22273

[catalogued under 18. Thought / A. Modes of Thought / 6. Judgement / a. Nature of Judgement]

Full Idea

The traditional categorisation of judgements (until at least 1800) was as universal, particular or singular; as affirmative, negative or infinite; as categorical, hypothetical or disjunctive; or as problematic, assertoric or apodictic.


'apodictic' means beyond dispute

Gist of Idea

Traditionally there are twelve categories of judgement, in groups of three


Michael Potter (The Rise of Analytic Philosophy 1879-1930 [2020], 02 'Trans')

Book Reference

Potter,Michael: 'The Rise of Anaytic Philosophy 1879-1930' [Routledge 2020], p.15

A Reaction

Arranging these things in neat groups of three seems to originate with the stoics. Making distinctions like this is very much the job of a philosopher, but arranging them in neat equinumerous groups is intellectual tyranny.