structure for 'Philosophy'    |     alphabetical list of themes    |     expand these ideas

1. Philosophy / D. Nature of Philosophy / 4. Divisions of Philosophy

[systematic divisions of philosophy into main topics]

6 ideas
If only natural substances exist, science is first philosophy - but not if there is an immovable substance [Aristotle]
Philosophy has three parts, studying nature, character, and rational discourse [Zeno of Citium, by Diog. Laertius]
Six parts: dialectic, rhetoric, ethics, politics, physics, theology [Cleanthes, by Diog. Laertius]
Three branches of philosophy: first logic, second ethics, third physics (which ends with theology) [Chrysippus]
Stoic physics concerns cosmos, elements and causes (with six detailed divisions) [Stoic school, by Diog. Laertius]
Ethics studies impulse, good, passion, virtue, goals, value, action, appropriateness, encouragement [Stoic school, by Diog. Laertius]