more from Werner Heisenberg

Single Idea 17549

[catalogued under 26. Natural Theory / D. Laws of Nature / 2. Types of Laws]

Full Idea

Science has seven closed systems of concepts and axioms: Newtonian mechanics; the theory of heat; electricity and magnetism; quantum theory; the theory of elementary particles; general relativity; and the theory of organic life.

Gist of Idea

Seven theories in science: mechanics, heat, electricity, quantum, particles, relativity, life


report of Werner Heisenberg (Physics and Philosophy [1958], 06) by PG - Db (ideas)

Book Reference

Heisenberg,Werner: 'Physics and Philosophy' [Penguin 1989], p.86

A Reaction

[my summary of pp.86-88 and 92] It is interesting to have spelled out that there are number of 'closed' theories, which are only loosely connected to one another. New discoveries launch whole new theories, instead of being subsumed.